Skip to main content

Spring Honors Convocation Recognizes 82 Graduates

Group photo at convocation

EKU Honors recognized 82 graduates at its annual Spring Honors Convocation ceremony, held Thursday, May 10. This group included those graduating this spring and summer, as well as a few students who will complete their student teaching and graduate this fall. Each student was individually recognized by Dr. David Coleman, honors program director, who shared their future plans and selected accomplishments during their time at EKU. Students also received a certificate to recognize the completion of their honors thesis, as well as the signature maroon mortarboard worn by EKU Honors Scholar graduates during commencement.

To graduate as an EKU Honors Scholar, students must complete the honors curriculum of 18-25 credit hours of honors coursework, complete and present their honors thesis on a research topic of their choice, and graduate with a 3.2 EKU GPA. Students are recognized at commencement, and their Honors Scholar designation is found both on their official transcript and their diploma.

The evening also featured the presentation of three Sheltowee Awards, given to friends of EKU Honors who have made significant contributions to the program. The name of the award comes from Daniel Boone’s Shawnee name “Sheltowee” or “Big Turtle” and represents the spirit of those who are pathfinders for EKU Honors, much as Daniel Boone was as he traveled across the Cumberland Gap and into Kentucky. This year’s Sheltowee Award winners were Ms. Tina Davis, university registrar; Dr. Chris Taylor, professor of history, and Dr. Martin Brock, associate professor of chemistry.

Additionally, the Jane Boyer Distinguished Service Award was presented to graduating Honors Scholar Rachel Lachut. This award is in memory and honor of Mrs. Jane Boyer, who, together with her husband Chuck, was the donor of the original endowment fund that makes possible the many conference travel opportunities in which students participate each year. This award is given to a graduating student who exemplifies Mrs. Boyer’s spirit of service, as she was a tireless advocate for education and the arts across the Commonwealth during her life.

See more photos of Spring Convocation at our Facebook page:

Published on May 21, 2018

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/